Print    Close This Window
Annual Ted Pedas Awards
Ted Pedas has a long history of giving back to his alma mater. Over the past 48 years, he has contributed $905,132.34 to the district. At the school board meeting held on September 11, he contributed another $75,000. This year's contribution will fund several awards aimed at recognizing outstanding students, non-instructional school staff, and an individual identified as a standout volunteer within the school district and community. The funds will also go toward the Model Rocketry and Flight in Education program as well as equipment, supplies and maintenance for the Ted Pedas Planetarium located in the high school.

The following student award winners were recognized at the September 11 school board meeting.

Students of the Year
First Grade: MarQuese Jackson
Second Grade: Audrina Ravenscraft
Third Grade: Carlao Lowe
Fourth Grade: Cevea Day
Fifth Grade: Mario Norris
Sixth Grade: Alan Wilder
Seventh Grade: Makayla Hall
Eighth Grade: Jacara Green
Ninth Grade: Ronald LaCamera
10th Grade: Jourdan Townsend
11th Grade: Christie Chesser
12th Grade: Nakai Niles

Superintendent's Academic Improvement Awards
Seniors: Ramone Battle, Matyra Evans, Marquez Mason, Daphne Williams
Juniors: Amira McLean, Aubrey Scarbrough
Sophomores: Kayla Bello, Javan Tran, Maia Green, Jourdan Townsend
Freshmen: Kyra Crosby, Jaxavier West

Junior Citizen of the Year Award
Cinnamon Price